Full Circle, it’s Over Already?

It wasn’t too long ago that there were introductions being made on this blog and all the students were sharing a little about themselves. Now it is at the end of the semester and everyone is gearing up for finals. There was a lot that was interesting in this class and then some that were not so hot.

I really enjoyed the White Spaces readings that were presented in class. primarily because they offered examples as well as explain in depth that was easy to understand what they were talking about. Not only that but it also was a point of interest for me since it tied into one of the projects we had to do which I already have an interest in.  The reads gave me pointers that I never really thought about when producing such products and help me improve myself which is why I enjoyed it the most.

Although I enjoyed Scout McCloud’s readings since they were easy to understand and the visuals were used well to express his meaning. I found that the Freud reading was a bore and hard to follow.  Compared to Scout McCloud I felt like there was no purpose to the images and it just added to the confusion. Also I kind of just ignored whatever they tried to show since it didn’t explain its meaning well to me at least and just googled up the concepts that I already had a running understanding of. Though it did help me understand the Phallic Stages after reviewing it a few times and it reminded me about the whole penis envy that females supposedly have. Though I did find myself going to good to have a better understanding of what was going on since I felt the reading only gave you the tip of the iceberg.

I believe this class should focus more on one type of media and go more in-depth with said media instead of trying to cover all medias at once. For example we were talking about print and the next thing I know we were talking about films. This felt like we were just rushing and bouncing all over the place. By focusing on a specific media the students can have a greater understanding of said topic instead of a very, very broad understanding of several topics. Having a focus does benefit other topics since a lot of things talked about can translate over to other topics and thus focusing will allow more in-depth learning.

Next semester I plan to take some more media classes, expand my photography/graphic design skills, and possibly do some video projects with my work.  These are all things I have some experience in prior to the class and have just been reinforced by taking said class.  Over all the class was enjoyable and I think it should have more focus to be even better for future students.

This entry was posted in Blog #6. Looking forward. Looking back.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

