With Endings Come Beginnings

As another semester ends, it is difficult to not look forward to the end of finals and the beginning of winter break. However, there is always a sadness with every beginning as it means there is an ending. Fortunately, I am able to take away the ideas that I learned in this class for the rest of my life. After this class, I will never be able to look at television, video games, news, and other forms of media the same way. Over this past Thanksgiving weekend, I watched a couple of Amy Adams movies, Arrival (Denis Villeneuve, 2016) and Nocturnal Animals (Tom Ford, 2016), with my friends. I realized that I was instinctively noting the shot angle, pacing, sequencing, sound, and much more. I do not believe that I will ever be able to look at a movie again without paying attention to these filmmaking concepts mentioned by Bernard Dick. I found the Bernard Dick readings to be my favorite reading. I am now extremely interested in taking film studies classes. I would be remiss to not say that I also thoroughly enjoyed Klosterman’s article about watching live sports, Gianetti’s ideology reading, and Baudrillard’s reading. For these final course periods, I would like to discuss the final few readings about simulation. I feel that we have covered the other themes sufficiently. I would like to hear my classmates’ opinions about how we could possibly living inside a matrix as Nick Bostrom suggests.

planet-earth-2

Capturing the perfect shot. A cameraman for Planet Earth 2 in a swarm of locusts. The trailer for Planet Earth 2 is also embedded below and is an example of  incredible cinematography techniques being used.(Photo: BBC)

My least favorite reading would have to be Andrew Bottomley’s article. I personally do not listen to the radio or podcasts anymore. Of course, the radio has been an important form of media as shown by FDR’s fireside chats or the War of the Worlds radio broadcast. It is interesting that Welcome to Night Vale, an independently produced podcast and a radio drama, could be the top podcast downloaded. Back in high school, I used to listen to Coast to Coast AM, which was a radio show about aliens and conspiracy theories. It was pretty crazy. I guess I have recently lost interest in radio and podcasts.

Next semester, I am planning on taking Endocrinology, Russian Cinema, Introduction to Dramatic Literature, Principles of Microeconomics, and Solar System Astronomy. I am looking forward to this schedule as it is very diverse and covers a wide range of topics. Along with these classes, I will remain busy playing tennis next semester as I will be waking up early for 6:30 am practice every morning. I am currently a junior but I still feel like a bright-eyed and bushy-tailed freshman. As a biochemistry and molecular biology major, I plan attending either graduate school or medical school after graduating. I am very excited to spend a portion of this summer traveling in the Nordic countries of Iceland and Norway.

I believe that surveillance would be a very intriguing topic. How much surveillance is necessary? In recent times, surveillance has been a contentious topic with issues such as NSA, Snowden, privacy, and freedom of information. The world of V for Vendetta (James, McTeigue, 2006) is very similar to George Orwell’s 1984, which I read in middle school. Both of these are examples of surveillance taken too far.

This entry was posted in Blog #6. Looking forward. Looking back.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

