So Much Communication, So Little Time

Far from what I was expecting, this class has been a welcomed whirlwind of communication education. I have enjoyed each and every topic we discussed and each assignment we were assigned. My favorite readings, though, were the two by Chuck Klosterman: Space, time, and DVR mechanics and This is Emo. Naturally, it is Klosterman’s writing style that does it for me. His style is directly blunt, comical, and socially unapologetic. Within his seemingly “low-brow” style, though, lies erudite links to literary styles. For example, consider the sentence, “I once loved a girl who almost loved me, but not as much as she loved John Cusack.” This sentence, penned by Klosterman, seems to pay homage (albeit possibly by

pablo_neruda_1963

Poet Pablo Neruda

coincidence) to my favorite poet, Pablo Neruda. In Tonight I Can Write the Saddest Lines, Neruda writes, “Tonight I can write the saddest lines. I loved her, and sometimes she loved me too.”Maybe the stress of Finals is getting to me, but I find these two quotes to have an interesting parallel.

If Klosterman was my favorite author, then Bernard Dick was my least favorite. Our readings,  Film, space and image from Dick’s Anatomy of Film, were dry and technical. That being said, they were intended to be. Dick was not writing an opinion piece or satirical fluff. Dick’s writing was intended to be a concise, informative text on the technicalities of film. This text was incredibly useful within the context of this class; it was a great source of citations for my teen film paper. For me though, having some background in cinematic theory, this reading was a bit dry and boring. Yet, I will concede; Dick’s exposition of Sergei Eisenstein’s montage theory is a powerful and interesting  portrayal. Besides just defining the theory of montage, Dick also notes how other filmmakers apply Eisenstein’s theory to their own work, noting that “the collision of images sometimes produces only pretentiousness.” The fact that Dick not only defines and explains cinematic theory but also illustrates its use with examples makes his writing incredibly useful.

Now that I have become better versed in the art of communication, I feel like I am ready to move forward in my career of studying here at Trinity. The skills I learned in this class are easily applicable to many subjects and disciplines. Hopefully, the writing criticism I have received in class will help me next semester, as I take a course in global climate change; effective communication is fundamental to solving climate issues. My new and improved writing abilities will also help me write my thirty page independent-study paper for Economics, next semester. Besides these two classes, I am also going to take Introduction to Sociology, which will require daily readings, much like the readings assigned in COMM 2302. Beyond that, I also plan to take Chinese and another geology course. Before next semester, though, we have a few class periods left this year. I would love to use this time to discuss the rise of internet memes, an interesting form of communication.

Of course, if memes don’t fit in to the end of this semester, meme

eternal_sunshine_of_the_spotless_mind_ver3

Eternal Sunshine of the Spotless Mind (Michel Gondry, 2004) deals with the idea of dreams and memory.

study could be a potential future topic for this course. Memes, on their own, though, are likely insufficient
to be considered as a theme for a future class. I do like the idea of
the theme of dreams. Dreams are both universal and personal, allowing for interesting discussion. Furthermore, their representation within various types of texts would likely lead to a wide variety of source material.

This entry was posted in Blog #6. Looking forward. Looking back.. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

