Who is Senpai?

Just a few days ago Trinity’s NSO (New Student Orientation) ended and the nickname Senpai was adopted for me by everyone who was apart of O-team (Orientation team) and a few of first years  thanks to a certain boy nicknamed Scuba.   Initially it started as an inside joke with Scuba during O-team training.  Scuba would casually call me Senpai or say, “Notice me Senpai” throughout training. Shortly, others soon picked up on it, started to questioning what was going on, and soon adopted it.  About two days into training I was asked,  “What is Senpai?”

So what is Senpai?

It is essentially a Japanese word for older upperclassman essentially but there is a dark side to it which American Internet culture recently has adopted. This ‘dark side’ is where there is a younger female student who is madly obsessed, beyond stalker potential, usually with an older male student.  There are two sides to the coin where this female student is too shy to even approach him but wants his attention or the male student is just too oblivious to notice how deeply in love the girl is with him even though she is showering him in love. Thus the phrase, “Notice me Senpai”, came into existence to describe that dynamic.

Quick search gave this youtube video of Notice me Senpai. This video kind of expresses the dynamic where the girl is obsessed but too shy to show it with a dark side in reference to an indie game that is in development.

IMG_5011

Photo Booth at Tiger Takeover

So why Senpai?

To sum up why I am called Senpai is compared to other undergraduate students at Trinity I would say I’m a bit older and also my recovery from an almost fatal accident last year. I have already gotten an undergraduate degree from the University of Texas at Austin, though that degree was not what I wanted which will lead to another story for another time and to why I am here at Trinity taking this class to chase after a new goal in Business and RTF (radio, television, film) on the side while I work fulltime. So I’ve seen some things and have plenty of stories that you’ll think is just outrageous but has really happen to me.

Last year I had an almost fatal accident that left me in a wheelchair for several months. I attend NSO as an O-teamer even while I was still recovering because I enjoy bringing people together. A lot of the O-teamers then told me that they were in awe in my optimistic outlook, dedication, and determination. So though sharing the full story with the new o-teamers this year people I believe saw me as someone they could rely on and look to for help. Hints why Senpai stuck so easily.

But in all honestly the reason it stuck was because in O-team we are stuck together for two weeks straight where small jokes like these make the training less of a bore and bring us closer as a team no matter how odd the joke.

I was very brief with those stories and if you are really interested in hearing them I don’t mind sharing them. Just ask.

Why Trinity?

I came to Trinity in spring of 2015 on a whim in all honesty. There was no grand reason as to why I came besides the fact it was close to where I live. I guess the only real reason is because I was sick of large college campuses and being a number there where at a small university such as Trinity I can be more engaged with a smaller student to professor ratio.

On a side note; as the semesters have gone by I have grown to love Trinity more and more. I mean what university would you hear about a professor delaying her next class a few minutes so she could help a student that just recently started using a wheelchair and couldn’t really move on their own that much move from class to their car. Not only help get to the car but help the student load their wheelchair and get situated in the car and then help search for a student to help in the future. This my friends doesn’t happen in large universities usually.

So if you ever hear the word “Senpai” called out when I’m around you no longer have to have a confused face and now know as to why I am unfortunately known as Senpai by many Trinity students.

This entry was posted in Blog #1. Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

