Is it better to be feared or loved?

Is it better to be feared or loved? The question many prominent and powerful leaders must confront and also a question I cannot answer and will not be addressing, but at least my creative title is complete.

My name is Andrew Cable and I have heard every single joke one could possibly make out of my last name. Some jokes have been pleasant but other times I have difficulty understanding why the person stating the joke even opened their mouth. If you fancy yourself to be some sort of creative genius, then I am more than willing to hear what you believe to be an original, new “cable” joke.

Regardless, my last name is significant to me in how it ties together my family, who I consider to be the most influential individuals in my life. I grew up the third child in a family of five boys. My younger brothers are twins, not identical in any sense of the word, and were born two years after me. My mother, in her abundant wisdom, sent me off to preschool at the tender age of two years old so that my preschool teacher could deal with the tantrum of a child entering their “terrible twos.” I have been young for my grade ever since and I won’t turn twenty one until about a month into my senior year here.

More about myself: I am passionate about sports, the human body, and food. My obsession with sports has changed a bit throughout my life. As a child, I was always in some sort of sport probably because I always had either a teammate or an opponent available since I had four brothers who appreciated sports at near equal levels. At a young age, my addiction to sports resulted from an intense, competitive drive. As I grew, and as my participation in organized sports declined, my love of anything athletic has morphed into an appreciation of the athletes that play the games. Tying into my second selected interest, I now enjoy watching sports almost as much as playing them. For me, the following actions are just a few examples of athletic performance that leads me to marvel at the human body: watching a volleyball player’s core contract, initiating the torque required to swing, mid jump mind you, and drive the ball to an unoccupied section of the court or the innate understanding of physics and ball flight required for a soccer player to instantaneously decide to guide a ball in a tight arc to their teammate on a breakaway or a swimmer’s last smooth stroke before contorting and beginning a precise flip turn in which they transfer and redirect massive amounts of momentum with ease. Now I may still be coming down from the high that watching the Olympics for two weeks caused, but I am genuinely blown away by the things we can do as humans. As I continue to appreciate the action in all sports, I have developed a motivation to understand what makes us move. I want to spend my professional life rehabilitating athletes from injury and actively working to prevent injuries and actualize, or in some cases re-actualize, the athlete’s full physical potential.

Last on my list of passions was food. I love food, whether I am eating it or preparing it. Ideally, I would prepare and then consume exactly what I had completed, but I have had to put that idea on hold while in college. I have difficulty

The cover art for the second season of Chef’s Table featuring a dish from Chef Grant Achatz at Alinea in Chicago.

articulating what exactly appeals to me about cooking and eating. The techniques required to prepare animals and vegetables alike are impressive and I enjoy learning these actions. There is also something to be said about the focus and control required to perfectly sear scallops or to smoke brisket so that it falls apart just right. On the flip side, there is actually nothing I enjoy more in life than eating tasty food. At restaurants, I tend to order what I have never had: the experience of an entirely new flavor or texture for me is exhilarating. I am going to guess that there are other people in our class who share some sort of appreciation of food at some level, and for those classmates (or Dr. Delwiche), I recommend the following two Netflix original series’: Cooked and Chef’s Table. Cooked focuses on how four elements: air, fire, water, and earth, constructed our basic human cuisine while Chef’s Table is a docu-series that follows some of the most talented chefs on this planet who are often pushing the bounds of food, either through creative manipulation of natural ingredients or revolutionizing the dining experience.

 

Now that I have covered my passions, I will provide a bit more information about myself. I am from Tucson, Arizona and have lived in the same house my entire life. My role model is my father. The hardest, yet most addicting, sport I have ever played is golf. My favorite brand is Under Armour. I am half-Mexican and a Catholic. I study Biology and have developed an odd appreciation/addiction to the Classics, hence my extremely pretentious sounding minor in Ancient Mediterranean Studies. I love superhero movies. I am a die-hard Green Bay Packers fan and modeled my football career after Brett Favre, which is probably why I no longer play organized football.

Thanks for reading,

Andrew

 

This entry was posted in Blog #1. Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

