East to West

When people ask me where I am from, I tell them “San Diego”, but the truth is I am from all over the place. I come from California burritos and In n Out burger which I crave just about everyday. When I was ten years old, I moved from New York City to San Diego. Initially I remember kicking and screaming at my mother not wanting to move all the way across the country from east coast to west coast but it would not take long for me to adapt and fall in love with the place I call my home. I think moving from the City to San Diego when I was a kid was one of the best things that ever happened to me despite that fact that my father stayed in New York to work. I was opened up to another world and got to experience a different life on a different coast. I learned how to be more independent and make new friends even though I didn’t want to. I think that even though I might have only been a kid during this move, it still had an underlying effect on the shaping of me as a person today in the sense that I learned how to cope with things that didn’t go my way at a young age.

I am taking this class for a number of reasons. The first reason being that I am a communications major with a minor in sports management. Although this is a required course for communications, I would still take this course for fun because I think it is important to be critical of the media we absorb today. As the days go by, the world is constantly advancing, and media and technology are only growing. The kind of world we live in today forces us to be critical of what is being shoved in our face otherwise we would give no meaning to anything. I believe that given all the media available today, the only way to truly understand what messages are being portrayed is by being critical and asking questions about what these messages could possibly mean.

Something that most people don’t know about me would be that I went to boarding school for my Jr. and Sr. year of high school. Why did I go to boarding school? The truth is, I really didn’t like the high school I was going to in San Diego and wanted to be more independent. I hated the fact that I had to rely on my mom for everything and i’ve always sort of felt that way. I hate relying on people, so going to boarding school gave me the perfect opportunity to only worry about myself as well as not get  caught up in a big high school where you are nothing but a face to your teachers. I think going to boarding school helped pave my journey into college. In fact, when I got to college, I was not shell shocked and really didn’t need any time to get used to being away from home since it was kind of like been there, done that from past experience.

Anyways, I could blabber on and on about who I am and what I like to do but there is just too much stuff to write about so I will leave you with this. I love dogs and baseball. When I graduate from Trinity, I want to work for an MLB team (hopefully the Padres or Yankees). Furthermore, I have an 8 month German Shepard named Loki. Raising a dog is a lot of hard work and has taught me that if you care about something you need to put lots of time into it. San Diego Beach

 

 

This entry was posted in Blog #1. Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

