Best of both worlds

Hello, my name is Carlotta, and I am an international freshman in my first semester of media Interpretation and Criticism. I’m very excited to be in a course with a hands-on approach, or at least that’s how I view it, having had a theoretical education.

FullSizeRender

The Spanish quarters, Naples, Italy. Characteristic picture of the most chaotic and eccentric part of the city (yes, the lady on the Vespa doesn’t have an helmet, it’s all normal. At least there are not 4 people it!).

From the time I was a born I have been immersed in the art and history of the beautiful city of Naples, Italy, which I am proud to call my hometown. -pretty amazing, right?
Naples’ unique architecture fascinates me and its multi-ethnical atmosphere influenced the person I have become.
On my 2nd birthday, my parents would not give me paper for my crayons because they wanted me to visit with our guests. So, I decided that the wall could be a great alternative, which didn’t please them.  Since then, they have bought me books and encouraged my participation in art contests during middle school. I have won competitions and had my painting displayed on the Comic-con wall. At that point, I knew that I wanted to be an architect.
I attended a rigorous high school that focused on expression of liberal arts, but not it’s creation. I started appreciating more things like literature, philosophy and international relations, but totally lost contact with the hands-on approach. For now, I am keeping all options open. To be honest, I am undecided on what I want to be in the future and what I would like to study. My main goal for this year is to discover my path in the world, what I could be good at, and who I really want to be.

You might be wondering how I ended up here. The truth is I’m Italian because my dad is and I was born and raised in Italy, but I’m also half American (my mom is). To quote a famous teen in TV, (just preparing for the course) “I got the best of both worlds” and feel very lucky about it.
Having a dual nationality is great, but sometimes it can feel like you don’t belong anywhere, or you would like to be back in the place where you are not at the moment.
I’m really pale, have reddish hair and I don’t have a heavy Neapolitan accent. In Italy everyone mistakes me as a foreigner. Here, it’s the same, although they are more justified considering my English is still a bit broken and I have a name that most Americans can’t pronounce. In two weeks, I have spelled my name two billion times and have been called Corolla several times (yes, like the car!).

You may find it interesting to know that I am a fencer! I am super excited that Trinity has a fencing club. I was very surprised! I also plan to spend a semester or a year abroad to learn another language. Studying Latin and ancient Greek during high school has been very helpful as a base for learning other languages, especially the romance languages. I can understand Spanish and I have taken French. One of my biggest goals is to become fluent in Spanish and French, and maybe learn German too, the language of philosophy.

When I chose my schedule, sincerely speaking, this class wasn’t on it; I really wanted to take “drawing I” for my first semester. The day I registered for classes everything went well until I encountered the terrifying experience, that probably all of you have experienced, of seeing “closed” next to the name of the class. Additionally, the other classes I selected as plans B and C were full. It was terrible. Fortunately, my student adviser helped me to pick a class that fulfilled the requirements and was enjoyable.
I hope that this long stream of consciousness did not bore you, this is who I am.

This entry was posted in Blog #1. Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

