A Little Bit of Everything

Most people would probably recognize me by my hair ­­- as of now my bangs are lime green. I’ve been dying my own hair since I was thirteen, and I’ve had pretty much every color – pink, red, orange, blue, mixes of those colors, and now green. I first got inspired to dye my hair around age eleven by Hayley Williams, as most probably know as the lead singer of Paramore. Her hair, music, and personal style has been an inspiration to me ever since. Now, six years later, dyeing my hair one of my favorite ways to express myself.

blog #1 photo

I don’t have time to dye all of my hair, so I just stick to my bangs.

People can’t really figure out my race or my faith from the way I look, but I’m biracial – half Arab/Bedouin and half white – and I grew up Muslim. Islam has shaped the way I viewed my community, family, and the world as a whole. Like most other faiths, Islam has taught me to teach others with kindness and compassion, and I try to incorporate those teachings into my daily life. Also, since I’ve lived most of my life in a post-9/11 America, the effects of Islamophobia and racism have shaped the way I grew up and envision my place in America.

I’ve pretty much known I wanted to do computer science to some degree since I was little, so naturally I am a Computer Science major. In addition, I would like to incorporate some form of humanities or arts into my degree or career. Music, especially, has been a huge component of my life and my passion since I can ever remember, especially genres like punk and hardcore. Furthermore, human rights has recently become more prominent in my interests, and I would like to find a way to incorporate that into my career.

Like many in this class, I took this class to fulfill a Pathways requirement. The class sounded interesting, and my friends who have taken Dr. Delwiche’s First Year Experience class said he was a great professor, so I was sold. After the first couple classes, I’m already so glad that I’m enrolled.

This entry was posted in Blog #1. Introduction. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

