Hitting the Beat

Breakin-hearts

Breakin’ Hearts is the largest b-boy event in New Mexico (my home).

Imagine yourself on a stage. There are about one hundred onlookers; each one criticizes your every move. Don’t worry, though. This is not that formal. How can it be? The style originated from the streets. But you’re not on the streets now. You are up on a stage and the music is loud. The beat hits you and shakes you down to your core. That’s what it’s designed to do: to get you moving. Of course, that’s exactly what you do. You start moving; you start dancing.

 

That’s where I come from. Several years ago, I was on a stage dancing. My little cousin
had gotten me into breakdancing (he is much better than me, by the way). Yes, when I was an awkward, shy teenager, the magical eight-count of hip-hop got me moving. The music, the movement, and the culture shaped me into a person who no longer fit the stereotypes he grew up with.

“Wait!” You may say. “Isn’t the hip-hop-loving teenager just another stereotype?” Well, yes, it is. However, that isn’t me. I dislike popular rap. I don’t dress in the baggy clothes. I don’t pretend I was “raised in the hood.” Instead, I have found a culture that I connect with so fundamentally that I embrace it without these outward expressions. When I, as a dancer, display myself, I feel very genuine. During a dance, which is a form of communication, the sender (dancer) and the receiver (viewers) have a dynamic relationship often analyzed as the “psychology of dance.” This medium of communication (dance) has allowed me to gain interest and practice in communication studies, albeit indirectly.

Since I started dancing and since I have become less shy, I have learned the importance of communication. Though I am taking COMM 2302 as a Pathways requirement, I selected this writing class in particular because the topics and ideas presented within seem to transcend the common English class. I hope to feel the deep presence of communication within the world around me, just as I felt when dancing. I believe this class will do just that.

 

This entry was posted in Blog #1. Introduction and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

